Shalder cardigan, on the beach.

 

Oh my lord, it’s been almost two months since I last checked in. : ( Thank you if you’re still reading! I never intend to take such long breaks; time just gets away from me.

Let’s jump right in with a finished sweater!

Pattern: Shalder, designed by Gudrun Johnston. Rav page here, buy the pattern here

Yarn: Quince and Co Lark in the bird’s egg colorway, buy the yarn here

Needles: Size 5 and 6 US bamboo circulars

Buttons: handmade oak buttons from OruAka, Etsy shop here

 

 

 

Knitting this sweater was a joy, from the yarn to the pattern to choosing the buttons. I’m so happy with how it turned out. My Ravelry project page tells me that it took me from April 2011 until February 2012 to finish it. 90% of the knitting was finished back in the summer, yet it took me a good five months to pick out buttons and get the motivation to finish seaming the pockets. Buttons are my Achilles heel. I have another sweater completely done, just waiting for buttons. Oh, Dayna.

The photos were taken last weekend, on an off-season quick visit to the Outer Banks. My husband and I hadn’t taken a weekend trip in almost a year, and it was lovely to get out of town. The weather was chill and rainy, but we were still able to do some running on the beach, and hiking at Jockey’s Ridge, the biggest sand dune on the East Coast. We watched dolphins jumping in the waves while drinking coffee on our balcony. Is there a better way to spend a Saturday morning? Not in my book.

If you ever find yourself in the Kill Devil Hills area, I can highly recommend the Outer Banks Brewing Station, Duck Donuts, and Front Porch Cafe. I’m a self-admitted coffee junkie/snob, and that was some of the best coffee I’ve had in my life.

Anyway, good times, happy memories. I have a cavalcade of finished knitting and spinning projects coming up, so I will check back in soon! Have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Shalder cardigan, on the beach.

Leave a Reply

