Finished Object: Handspun Mitts

So a few weeks ago, I made yarn. And then I made that yarn into an actual, useful thing!

Pattern: 75 Yard Malabrigo Fingerless Gloves

Yarn: My own handspun (yay!), Spunky Eclectic Corriedale in Robin Hood, 3-plied on my Cascade Little Si drop spindle

Needles: size 6 US

Mods: I knit twisted k1p1 ribbing, instead of the k2p2 ribbing the pattern calls for, just because I love the way twisted ribbing looks.

Very pleased with this little project! I knit them both during one sick day last week, sniffling and coughing on the couch, watching episodes of Inspector Lewis and admiring the way the colors played together in the yarn. I love the idea of variegated yarns, because I’m a color junkie, but they rarely turn out nicely in finished projects. Handspun satisfies my need to mix a bunch of colors together, but I think the blending and transition between the colors is much more subtle and interesting than with variegated yarns.

The mitts are also incredibly warm. They will get a lot of use this winter!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Finished Object: Handspun Mitts

    • Thanks! I get so much inspiration from seeing people’s handspun projects. Now I just need more time to spin and knit! : )

Leave a Reply

