Works in Progress Wednesday: Spinning!

No one warned me that I would get addicted to this spinning thing. I can’t quit!

This is merino top from the Unplanned Peacock, in the Lobelia colorway. I’ve only spun a teeny bit of fluff on it, and, wow, is it soft. The softness feels great, of course, but provides a little challenge when drop spinning. I seem to experience more, well, dropping with this fiber than the Corriedale I spun on my first try. It’s almost like the fiber is so soft that it doesn’t want to hold together sometimes.

It’s spinning up into a pretty blend of blues and whites so far though. Can’t wait to get to some of those purples and pinks!

October is my favorite month (not least because it’s my birthday month!) but it also signals the real beginning of autumn, my favorite season. Lately we’ve had several of those perfect crisp-but-sunny fall days, and I thought I’d share some of the photos I took on a walk this week on one of those lovely days.

I just adore everything about fall. Fall candles, colder weather, Halloween, golden leaves, wearing hoodies and boots, making soup for dinner again, pumpkin everything. I honestly think I could have fall year-round and not get sick of it. In the first five days of October, I’ve had a pumpkin latte, pumpkin ice cream, and homemade pumpkin pancakes. Overkill? : )

Happy Wednesday! Check out more WIPS at WIP Wednesdays.

4 thoughts on “Works in Progress Wednesday: Spinning!

  1. Your photographs are just beautiful. You definitely have an eye for the good shots.

    Spinning has pretty much taken over my life. The addiction gets worse as far as I can tell 🙂 I love the fiber you’re spinning. Merino is definitely smoother than Corriedale so it will need a little more twist to hold together. It took me awhile to get it right on my wheel, too.

Leave a Reply

