Work in Progress: Tie Back Shell

Hola! Hope you’re all having a lovely week. Things have been hot and muggy here in the NC, and subsequently I’ve been staying indoors and crafting a lot. I have about two weeks of summer left before I go back to work, and I’m trying to make the most of it! To be honest, I’m more than ready for crisp fall weather, wool sweaters, and pumpkin-spiced everything. I’m trying not to hurry my life along, however, so I’m going to enjoy  summer while it’s here. 100 degree temperatures and all.

The main work-in-progress I’ve got going is a summer sweater, the Tie Back Shell by Connie Chang Chinchio (rav link). It’s from the spring/summer 2009 issue of Knit.1 by Vogue, and it’s been in my favorites for a while. I’m using Longmeadow, which is a WEBS yarn made of 60% cotton and 40% microfiber, in the coral colorway. I bought it to make Lizette from the summer Twist Collective, but when the yarn arrived, the real life color was not so much coral, as screaming loud bubble gum pink. Bummer! I thought it would work better with the Tie Back Shell’s retro look than Lizette’s more understated style.

See? Yowza. Very pink. I’m happy with it so far. The construction is a little odd; you knit the long tie first, then pick up stitches along the tie and knit them in both directions to make the bodice.

I have a little bit of yarn acquisition to share, and a big yarn shop recommendation if you happen to be in the Central New York area. I had the chance to check out the Yarn Cupboard in Jamesville, NY while visiting family a couple weeks ago, and it was a great little shop with a super friendly staff. They have some lovely, lovely stuff that I can’t get my hands on around here: lots of Madeline Tosh, Fibre Company, big Malabrigo selection, and locally-dyed yarns, too. I was enamored of their Spud and Chloe selection. The colors! Oh my stars, the colors. Adorable. I’d never gotten to play with any in real life, and I couldn’t help but come home with a couple skeins of Sweater. Not sure what it will become (hat? baby sweater?) but I can’t wait to see it striped together!

 

2 thoughts on “Work in Progress: Tie Back Shell

Leave a Reply

