Works in Progress Wednesday: Baby Stuff

My sister’s due date of August 7 is fast approaching, and her baby shower is approaching even faster. Actually, it’s in four days! Feeling quite organized and well-prepared, I chose a pattern and cast on for a baby sweater weeks and weeks ago. It was the pattern Lucille by Courtney Kelley, which is a lacy cardigan knit in a fingering weight yarn. I spent about two weeks of evenings knitting away at it, in Cascade Heritage sock yarn. It was cute! It was so very cute.

And also asymmetrical.

The pattern is not supposed to be asymmetrical, by the way. WOW. Wow, you guys. I didn’t realize until I knit almost the entire thing, and cast off, that I was following the sleeve shaping for the smallest size, while knitting the rest of the pattern in the next size up.

Whoops.

I actually think it looks kinda okay (maybe in a fashiony, modern way? Or something?) but I didn’t want my future niece to wear a sweater with so many cuss words knit into it. Bad vibes. With about a week and a half to go until her shower, I rallied the troops and chose another sweater: the Jubilee Cardigan by Cecily Glowick Macdonald. Here’s a sneak peek:

I’m trying to decide on the buttons…

I’m leaning toward the pearly ones, because I think they’ll look nice with the yarn, but how cute are those bun buns?!Ā  They might be difficult to button, though. I may use them as decoration on something else.

I also got a skein of Be Sweet Bamboo, a lovely super, super soft yarn, to make a hat. Still need to pick a pattern and knit it by Saturday!

I stopped by the library this morning and picked up a couple new pattern books that I had on hold – Vintage Modern Knits by Kate Gagnon Osbourne and Courtney Kelley (who writes very lovely, very symmetrical patterns, by the way) and Spud and Chloe at the Farm by Susan B. Anderson. I’m really looking forward to flipping through them and pouring over the patterns.

My little Lila kitty had to sneak into the shot, of course. We had a little health scare with her this week – she had her regular check up and the vet called me Monday to say her calcium levels were showing as high. Could be relatively minor, or could be an indicator of a tumor. The second I heard “tumor,” I was freaking the freak out. We had to wait two more days on the results from a more specific test (a very long two days!) and heard the results this morning; everything is normal! Thank goodness, because I was an utter nervous wreck. We get attached to our little pets, don’t we?? Luckily, everything is all good, I was able to heave a huge sigh of relief and get back to my knitting! : )

(Check out more Works in Progress over at WIP Wednesdays!)

4 thoughts on “Works in Progress Wednesday: Baby Stuff

  1. That is a shame about the Lucille cardigan. When I first saw the picture, I was actually drawn to its asymmetry. Maybe you can reknit it for a first birthday present. The Jubilee Cardigan is adorable, too. I love both buttons, especially the bunnies (so cute!) but agree that the round ones will probably be easier with a squirming baby.

  2. I think the cardigan looks fine asymmetrical. Very modern. Still, the pink one is awesome too. I’d probably not use the bunny buttons just so I could keep them and giggle at them now and then… but that’s how you get an overflowing button box. šŸ˜‰

  3. OMG, I’m so sorry about the Lucille cardigan as it’s adorable, but I have to admit I laughed at that picture. I can’t believe you didn’t notice, but I have done something similar before, so I’m not one to judge! Jubilee is adorable, though, so it’s all good. šŸ˜€

    I’m sorry about the kitty freak out! I’m having something similar with my dog right now, so totally know how that feels. Of course you get attached… they’re like children in many ways! I’m glad that she’ll be just fine and everything is good. šŸ™‚

    • haha, no, I totally laughed too! Knitter’s denial is a strong thing…I thought, hmm, maybe it looked a little off, but I don’t know how I didn’t fully notice until it was almost done!

      Sending you and your doggie some good vibes – hope he’s recovering well from his surgery! : )

Leave a Reply

