Finished! Nantucket Red cardigan.

When you’re going to take a month-long break from blogging, might as well come back with a bang, right? Guess what! I have a finished sweater to share!

Pattern: Nantucket Red by Thea Coleman (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Classic Elite Classic Silk (50% cotton, 30% silk, 20% nylon) butter colorway

Needles: Size 5 US

Mods and Notes: I knit this a bit longer than the pattern called for. I just added about 2 inches to the body, front and back. I also added some shaping to the back using decreases, but I forgot to mirror the decreases in the front (whoops) which made seaming them together a bit interesting. It turned out alright though!

I seriously finished the knitting and seaming for this back in March, and it’s taken me almost 2 months to sew in the fasteners. I had to, you know, buy the hooks and eyes (which I purchased at Michaels, a whopping 3 miles from my house) and then, like, sit down and actually SEW THEM IN. A monumental task that took one whole episode of Doc Martin to finish.

Anyhow, I’m really pleased with it, and it’s been great for spring weather. I love the columns of lace!

I’ve also been hard at work at my Shalder cardigan. I was sick with a cold last week, and the time I spent sniffling on the couch made for some productive knitting.

It’s peak strawberry season here in North Carolina, and I picked up some lovelies from the farmer’s market this morning. I’m trying to squeeze out all the fun from the last days of spring; unfortunately, after May the weather here turns sticky hot and stays that way until October!

2 thoughts on “Finished! Nantucket Red cardigan.

Leave a Reply

