Finished! Hedgerow Socks.

Pattern: Hedgerow Socks by Jane Cochran (rav link)

Yarn: Knit Picks Bare, hand-dyed by…me!

Needle: US size 0 (2mm) circulars

Mods and Notes: I cast on 60 stitches, and they fit well. I wear a size 7 shoe and have scrawny chicken legs, so I like my socks to be smaller-than-average.

I’m really happy with how the socks turned out, especially considering this was my first try at knitting with my own hand-dyed yarn. I painted the yarn with different shades of the same blue, and the semi-solid color really works well with a textured stitch pattern like this one.

I could really get into this hand-dying yarn thing. : ) It was really fun, and creative in a much more spontaneous way than knitting. And a lot faster! When the weather’s warmer I might have to give it another try.

Finally, apropos of nothing, here’s a random photo I took at a local garden. It makes me feel very peaceful, which is a feeling I’m trying to cultivate these days. Happy Friday!

{ See more finished knit and crochet objects at FO Fridays! }

 

13 thoughts on “Finished! Hedgerow Socks.

  1. I love the socks, your yarn came out beautifully and the ribbing looks pretty and cozy. And that last photo is just lovely, it makes me feel peaceful, too. (It also makes me long for some weather where standing water will stay unfrozen for more than a couple days at a time, haha.)

    • Thanks! Oh wow, I hadn’t thought to be grateful for unfrozen running water, but now I am. : ) One of the definite side benefits of living in the South is an early spring!

    • Thanks! I usually stick with more toned-down shades, but I needed some extra bright color to get me through the end of winter!

    • Thank you – I’m a huge fan of semi-solid yarns, so I was really pleased when I was able to create that look when I dyed my yarn.

Leave a Reply

