2010 Sweater Round-up

You may have noticed that, despite my proclamation in January of 2010 that I was going to do so, I did not knit 12 sweaters in 2010. I’m not at all disappointed in that because, guess what? I knit seven sweaters in 2010, and that’s five more than I knit in 2009! Yay me. Here’s a walk down memory lane for a look back at them (pretend things are getting all wavy like a flashback of the past in a movie…woooo…):

You can click the image to make it bigger, and also check out more photos and details about the sweaters on my Rav project page.

I am very, very pleased with almost all my sweaters. The only one that doesn’t get worn often is Buttercup, because it just plain doesn’t fit. Whoops. The rest are in my frequent wardrobe rotation. That makes me inordinately happy; I feel like I’ve finally reached the stage where my knitting and finishing skills are good enough to create polished sweaters that “look store bought,” if you know what I mean. In other words, I’m not embarrassed to wear them in public!

My focus for next year will still be sweaters. I’m going to keep following along with the IntSweMoDo group on Ravelry for inspiration and encouragement. I always seem to add about 10 more sweaters to my list every time I look at that group! hehe. I have a laundry list of patterns to knit, of course, but I’m also leaving myself open to random inspirations that might strike and new patterns published this year.

In addition to the sweaters, I also knit two pairs of socks, one adult hat, three kids’ hats, two lace shawls, one pair of fingerless mitts, and lots of dishcloths this year. Not too shabby!Ā  Hope your 2011 is getting off to a pleasant start. : )

6 thoughts on “2010 Sweater Round-up

  1. I think all your sweaters are smashing! šŸ™‚ I’m also sort of joining the intswemodo group this year, but I don’t plan to push myself if it doesn’t come naturally. I’m more taking it as inspiration to finally finish sweaters (I seem to always give up halfway and rip the whole thing). It’ll be an interesting year, for sure! šŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I saw you over at the intswemodo group! : ) I found the group helpful as inspiration – kind of like a cheering section to help motivate me to finish my sweaters. Good luck with your year of sweaters – i can’t wait to see what you make! : )

  2. All those sweaters are beautiful but your Girl Friday is my favorite. šŸ™‚

    Good luck with IntSweMoDo! Even if you don’t do 12, it’s really exciting to just try!

Leave a Reply

