Work in Progress Wednesday

I’ve often popped over to the Work in Progress Wednesday meme going on over at Tami’s Amis and Other Crochet blog, and admired the projects people are in the process of creating. I’ve never gotten it together enough to actually participate until today!

Here’s my major work in progress, what will likely be my last sweater of 2010, Girl Friday from Knitty Fall 2009:

As you can see, all of the actual knitting is done. As you can also see, it’s a sweater that has to be seamed up and that has not happened yet! Argh, seaming. Further complicating matters is that it needs buttons, which seem to take me months to find and sew on.

It’s knit in Knitpicks Wool of the Andes in Dove Heather, and I found myself one ball short of the yarn before I had finished knitting the collar. I ordered another ball through Knit Picks but everyone knows that yarn gets lonely if it travels by itself in single balls, so I ordered some Pallete to keep it company in the mail. I’ve never used Palette before, and since there are about 100 colors to choose from, I just kind of stabbed in the dark and ordered a favorite combination of gray and ochre.

You may notice the Beastie Boys poster on the wall behind the yarn. Also note the genuine Mike D autograph!! It actually has all 3 of their signatures on it. My brother-in-law’s friend (who doesn’t like the Beastie Boys…there’s no accounting for taste, I guess. hehe) won it in a radio call-in contest and was nice enough to pass it along to my husband and me. It’s one of our prize possessions!

Anyway, I’m not quite sure what this yarn wants to become, but it’s my next work-in-progress. Maybe a colorwork hat and a pair of Endpaper Mitts? Hmm.

 

17 thoughts on “Work in Progress Wednesday

  1. I really like that sweater. Another item added to my queue today.

    I really dislike seaming, but I hate sewing on buttons more. I used to pay my MIL a dollar a button to sew them on my kids clothes I made.

  2. Welcome to WIPW! I’m glad you were able to join us. Feel free to join us each week and don’t be shy to comment! You don’t have to participate a blog post to participate. 🙂

    The sweater is going to be beautiful! I can’t wait to see it finished. Feel free to join FO Friday once it (or any project) is finished as well! We’re always looking for new “members”.

    • Thanks! I really like checking out what everyone is working on. I don’t have any FOs ready today, but hopefully by next Friday! Thanks for the warm welcome! : )

  3. That Girl Friday is going to look smashing when finished. Good luck with the seaming…that’s my least favorite part which is why I tend to knit sweaters in the round. The Palette colors you have chosen are lovely. They would be great for a Selbu Modern hat. And I am most jealous of your Beastie Boys poster! I saw them in concert several times and they were amazing live.

    • Thanks! Selbu Modern is definitely in my top 5 favorite hat patterns…I think it would be a good choice for this yarn. I’ve never been lucky enough to catch the Beastie Boys in concert, so I’m jealous of your concert experiences! : )

  4. Mmm, grey and ochre. Those yarns look amazing together, as does your sweater, which I really love the texture of! (I always get stuck at the putting-pieces-together stage of fiber projects, too.)

  5. Beautiful colour combo, grey is one of my favourite colours.

    I’ve always hated sewing knitted items together until I discovered the ‘mattress stitch’ real simple to do and totally seamless 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m not too bad at doing the mattress stitch, I’m just lazy! hehe. It is an awesome technique though – I love watching the edges totally disappear when you pull the seam together.

  6. Glad you are joining in the WIPW fun! I feel your pain in regards to the sewing of seams and buttons! Your cardigan looks beautiful though, you will have to finish it so we can see it on one of these FO Fridays. Of course you can’t order just one thing from Knitpicks! You chose pretty colors.

    • Thanks! I know, right!?! When Dan and I opened the poster on Christmas, I pretty much freaked out like a little kid getting a Nintendo or a puppy. It’s one of my favorite gifts of all time!

      If you have any Knitpicks questions or need recommendations, let me know! They also make nice but cheap needles.

Leave a Reply

