Pattern: Masonic Lodge Socks by quelle erqsome

Yarn: Knitpicks Stroll Tonal in Kindling (75% superwash merino, 25% nylon) used about 80% of a skein to fit a men’s size 9 shoe-wearer

Needles: size 0 US (2.0mm) circulars – Magic Loop style

Mods and Notes: I may never knit a pair of men’s socks again. These took foreverrrrr, and despite the cabling, the pattern was not super-interesting to knit. Well-written and easy to follow, very classy and nice finished product, but dude. I felt like I was working on these for months and months.

I really don’t like the yarn, either. The old Knitpicks Stroll, in the kettle-dyed style and sadly discontinued, didn’t flash and pool the way the new Tonal line does. I even resorted to knitting from 2 different balls, and that helped somewhat, but it still didn’t have that nice textured semi-solid look I got from the socks I knit in “old” Tonal:

Instead, it created ugly blobs and stripes of light brown and dark brown. Sigh. My husband is thrilled with them and said, “It doesn’t matter. No one will see them in my hiking boots anyway.” hehe

I’m at the beginning of a five-day break from work for the Thanksgiving holiday in the US, and as you can imagine I’m incredibly excited. I’ll have lots of time to knit,  read, and enjoy the crazy-warm fall weather we’re having around here!

Leave a Reply

