Cake! Plus, Knitting News Monday.

It was my birthday this weekend!

My excellent husband baked me a Chocolate Stout Cake, the recipe for which you can find right here. I recommend you make one, right away if possible. Use Young’s Double Chocolate Stout. You won’t regret it, I promise.

I was able to spend time with friends I hadn’t seen in quite a while, try some delicious microbrewed beers, talk to my family, and hear my nieces sing the Happy Birthday song over the phone. All in all, a great birthday.

I also had a lot of time to catch up on my Google Reader, and wanted to share the fruits of my blog-reading with you. Some interesting bits of news in the fiber-y crafting world:

  • In case you missed it, basically the whole knitting/crochet scene is, like, totally crushing on Jared Flood’s new yarn line Shelter. And with good reason, because it looks gorgeous. You can buy the yarn online or in a small selection of stores. He’s also released some patterns to celebrate the yarns’ release, my favorite of which is a shawl called Terra.
  • Gudrun Johnston of the Shetland Trader has started taking pre-orders for her book of patterns, which is due out in mid-November. You can see all the patterns here, and they are so pretty! I love this hat, called Norie:

{ photo from theshetlandtrader.com }

  • I realllllly like this sweater Kate Davies knit, called Deco. I’m hoping she releases the pattern soon…cute cute. She shares the inspiration behind the pattern, which is the early 20th century Deco and Moderne architecture found in NYC. It’s so cool to hear the back story of a design.
  • Interweave Knits Holiday preview is out! Lots of the patterns were just meh for me, but a couple things stood out. I think the Anouschka scarf is really unusual and has potential to be a cool statement piece.

{ photo from interweaveknits.com }

And the Jubilee cardigan is pretty darn sweet:

{ photo from interweaveknits.com }

There are a LOT of accessory patterns. Definitely worth a look!

4 thoughts on “Cake! Plus, Knitting News Monday.

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! That cake looks YUMMY!

    I love Gudrun’s new book and am totally thinking about pre-ordering it… I’m also excited for Ysolda’s new book coming out soon. 🙂

    • Thanks! I can’t wait for Ysolda’s book! So many great new patterns this fall – I need more hours in the day to knit them all!

Leave a Reply

