Finished Object: Citron shawl!

Pattern: Citron shawl by Hillary Smith Callis, Knitty Winter ’09

Yarn: Knitpicks Alpaca Cloud Lace, tidepool heather colorway. 1 skein.

Needle: US Size 3, Addi Lace

Mods and Notes: No (intentional, at least) modifications! The pattern (and sample) have a “ruffly edging”, and mine really does not. Not  sure what happened there, but c’est la vie.

Oh my. This was probably the most tedious pattern I’ve ever knit. I started it back in July when we were in Florida, and it took me a good six weeks to slog through. By the final repeat, you are knitting SO MANY STITCHES for each row. So very many, many mind-numbing stitches. This almost requires television or movie watching to make it through. I’m happy with the way it turned out though!

It’s pretty tiny, so I’ll wear it as a little neckerchief thing. I bet it would look very cute with a tweed or velvet blazer, although it was far too hot to model that particular look today. Get here soon, fall!

8 thoughts on “Finished Object: Citron shawl!

    • Thanks! Knitpicks can vary in quality, but they have some yarns that are really good value for the price. I have heard of some European knitters going in together on a big order, and having a friend in the US mail it to them…maybe something to check out!

  1. That colorway is gorgeous! I know what you mean about each row taking an eternity….such a boring knit and I didn’t think I’d ever finish it!
    Great job, it’s really lovely!

  2. Hi! Thanks for the comment on my blog. Just wanted to say — Wow! That might be the prettiest Citron I’ve seen. Gorgeous. Sorry it was such a slog, but hopefully the pretty FO will make up for it.

Leave a Reply

