Finally! I have some knitting to share! You would think this blog is “Littlesparrow Yammers on About Plants and Other Random Crap” but, I promise, my needles have been clacking.

Pattern: Cold Mountain Stole by Keiran Foley

Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Lilac, 2 skeins with a bit left over

Needle: US size 3, Addi Lace 40-inch circulars

Mods/Notes: This was a straight-forward lace stole! Not much to tell; I didn’t change anything about the pattern, I found the charts completely easy to read, and it was memorize-able. This last point is very important to me, since I get most of my knitting done while watching movies and/or talking.

It’s a bit skinner than the pattern sample, which is just fine by me because I’m going to wear it as a scarf anyway. Not that I can remember what it feels like to be cold enough to need a scarf, but maybe one day the temperature will drop below 90 degrees…

I’m also well into Manu, the cardigan I’m knitting out of cotton. It’s a really interesting pattern to knit. I’m learning a new method of short rows, called Sunday rows after Carol Sunday, who came up with them. You know how when you go back over short rows, sometimes it’s hard to figure out which loop is the one you need when closing the short row? This method has you mark the loop with a little 3-inch piece of sock weight yarn, so you’re never in doubt! Smart, huh?

Along with lots of knitting, I’ve been catching up on my Young Adult book reading so I can have some good recommendations for my kids when we go back in August, visiting with friends and family, and playing waaaaaay too much of a computer game called Plants vs. Zombies. It’s so addicting it should really be illegal. I first heard about it on the Stash and Burn podcast, and I shudder to think of how many hours I’ve lost fighting zombies with cute little plants! Ah well, what is summer for, if not frivolous pursuits? : ) I hope you’re enjoying July too, and it’s not too disgustingly hot where you are!

8 thoughts on “

  1. I love your stole! What a beautiful pattern and color!

    It’s very hot here too, I have to keep reminding myself that it will get cold again eventually and I then will want those socks that I’ve been “working on” for months!

    • Thanks! Yep, I’m having to stretch my imagination to remember what it feels like to be cold! It will be nice to have warm wooly things to keep me warm. : )

    • Thanks – I’m really enjoying knitting Manu! The pattern uses some techniques that are new to me, so it’s a fun challenge. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

