Plants and creatures.

Writing, which usually requires the use of my brain, is feeling a little too strenuous for my summer schedule. And the heat wave we’ve been having (it’s been over 90 degrees F for.. as long as I can remember, it seems) is slowing down my neurons. It’s just too hot to think. The point is that I’m going to be doing a lot of show and just a little tell. : )

I thought I’d show you what’s going on in my little garden at the moment. We got back from our trip to Kentucky to find that the Super 1,000 cherry tomato plants had literally doubled in size in one week:

Right now they’re taller than me (5’4″). Subsequent research tells me that they can get up to 15 feet (!!!) tall and produce hundreds of little tomatoes. The plan for this week is to get a sturdier system of stakes in there and trellis them.

We got our first tomato of the year! It’s from the Early Girl variety in the upside-down planter. It was a delicious ingredient in bruschetta last night.

There’s also a pretty big gypsy pepper; right now it’s green-yellow, and can be eaten raw or cooked at this point, just like a green pepper. If I let it stay and get red, it will become a lot sweeter. Hmm, I don’t think I’m going to hold out until then! I’m curious to try it.

I’ve also been enjoying the creatures who hang out in my garden (to be honest, the robin’s nest is in my mother-in-law’s garden! But, oh, how cute!)

2 thoughts on “Plants and creatures.

Leave a Reply

