Oh my! I’ve been away for a while! The hustle of closing down the library for the summer, combined with the bustle of our trip home to Kentucky for my sister’s wedding, left little time for knitting, reflecting, taking photos, or writing. But do you want to hear the most glorious, wonderful, excellent, sublime, stupendous news? It’s summer! No school! Can you tell that I’m just a wee bit excited? : )

Anyhow. The wedding was lovely, a whirlwind of preparation and nerves, and then it was all over in a blink. I decided to let the professionals do their job and actually left my camera in the bag during the wedding and reception, but I have a few pre-ceremony shots. Aw, my sister is so pretty! That’s an orchid in her hair.

The ceremony was at a historic water tower, right on the Ohio River. What you can’t see in these photos is that it was about a million degrees out.

I don’t really get emotional at weddings and I was running around trying to help with a hundred different things, so I didn’t have time to think about it, but wow! My little sister is married. Yay!

We had the rest of the week to play tourist – visited some historic homes, walked around downtown, shopped in some new shops. I’ve lived away from Louisville for nine years now, but it’s still definitely the place I feel most at home.

This is the Belle of Louisville, a historic steamboat, on the Ohio River. The bridge stretches over to Indiana.

I miss Louisville so much! I’ve loved living in North Carolina the past five years and getting to know a different part of the country (sort of…still the South) but my heart really belongs there.

Whew! Long post. Next time I’ll have more knitting and gardening to talk about! Hope your week is wrapping up well!

One thought on “

Leave a comment