Somehow I’ve let a whole week get away from me without stopping to take a breath. The end of the school year, while seemingly a pleasant, low-key time, is actually one of the most frenetic for me. I haven’t done inventory! I haven’t submitted my grades! I haven’t gotten the storage closets organized or the computers nicely stored away or gone through my old lessons or cleaned out my desk or or or…whether I’m ready or not, summer is coming.

The other big excitement around these parts is that my little (age 25…but little to me) sister is getting married in exactly one week. My brain is just not ready to compute that yet. Oh goodness. I have to get shoes! I have to write a speech for the reception! I have to get my nails done! And did I mention – my baby sister is going to be married!?!

All in all, it’s been a little nuts recently and I just have not made time to take photos or reflect. So! Here are my thoughts on some patterns coming out this summer:

  • The Vogue Knitting Early Fall Preview is out. I see some things there that I’d really like to knit. Vogue divides their issues into “stories” of patterns with similar themes, and in this issue, “Make Me Blush” looks promising, although I would choose another color than baby pink. I LOVE the “Weekenders” collection. Looks a little Rowan-y, if you know what I mean. Love it.
  • There’s a preview up of Norah Gaughan Vol. 7 from Berroco. She has some lovely scarves and wraps in this one; in particular, I like Elbaite and Rhodocrosite. The sweaters this time are not my cup of tea for the most part, although Aquamarina and Calcite are very pretty. Incidentally, all the patterns are named after gems and geodes, and could they be any harder to spell?!
  • A pattern book that I’m really excited for is New England Knits from Melissa LeBarre and Cecily Glowik Macdonald. It looks like one of those pattern collections with photos so gorgeous that you just want to climb in and live inside the book. Click here to flip around and get a sneak peek inside.

Any now I hear it just starting to rain, with the beginnings of thunder, so I ought to unplug myself from the computer and enjoy some knitting before it’s time to begin another crazy week. : )

2 thoughts on “

  1. Congrats to your sister! I’m sure the wedding will be wonderful for all involved. 🙂

    I also like the New England Knits book! I’m waiting to see other knit from it first before buying, but it’s definitely on my “to-watch” list.

Leave a Reply

