Gardeny updates.

My garden is humming right along into late spring. The lettuce and spinach got eaten (by me, not pests) and then ripped out. I’ve planted two kinds of sweet pepper (gypsy and carmen), jalapenos, and three cherry tomato plants in my raised bed. I think I have enough room to fit one more tomato plant in there.

The peas in the back there have just been hanging out and getting bigger and bigger. No sign of any blossoms, until now…this is what I think might be the beginnings of a blossom:

We shall see, we shall see. One of the jalapenos already has a baby pepper on it! Behold the cute tiny capsicum!

When everything seems like it’s going down the tubes, getting out in my own little piece of land and making things grow is about the only thing that cheers me up. I can completely forget about the teetering pile of laundry I need to wash, or the kid who cursed me out that day, or the financial worries that loom over me like an especially persistent cloud. All I have to do in that moment is just play in the dirt and watch things grow!

“No occupation is so delightful to me as the culture of the earth, and no culture comparable to that of the garden.” – Thomas Jefferson


2 thoughts on “Gardeny updates.

Leave a Reply

