Finished: Buttercup sweater!

Kapow! Buttercup is done. Finally.

Pattern: Buttercup by Heidi Kirrmaier

Yarn: Knitpicks CotLin in Clementine, 6 skeins

Needles: Size 6 and size 4 (US)

Size: Small

Mods and Notes:

I don’t really like this one very much! Sad. It’s far too wide. I should have made it a lot smaller, but my swatch shrunk so much that I was afraid it would be too small if I made the extra-small size. Well, had I paid a tiny bit more attention, I would have noticed that the swatch shrunk  in length, but not width. So now I have a sweater that fits perfectly, lengthwise, but has a huge droopy neckline and fits me like a tent.

I also need to learn how to fix my uneven knit/purl tension, because it’s causing those weird uneven rows like you see at the top where the pattern requires you to knit back and forth. Sigh. I think it’s good to share projects that turn out crappily, because I sometimes feel like I’m surrounded by awesome  crafters churning out perfectly lovely projects left and right. Sometimes, though, stuff just turns out wrong and ugly and you want to stamp your foot and throw a tantrum. Then have a nice sulk and a cold beer. Hrumph.

I do like the little feather and fan details in the neckline and hemline. Overall, though, a disappointing knit. Ah well. Maybe I’ll hang on to it in case I ever need maternity wear? haha.

Know what’s not disappointing? Teeny green tomatoes!! I have my first of the season.I can’t wait to eat you, leetle tomato!

8 thoughts on “Finished: Buttercup sweater!

    • I think a lot of people have had the same fit issue with Buttercup. : ( This one might fit my sister, so hopefully it will get worn at least a little!

    • I was so disappointed because I really like the color! I may be able to give it to my sister – I think it would fit her, but may not be her taste. Hmm…

  1. I know exactly what you mean on the knit/purl rows…had the same problem for sometime. My tension is different for knit vs purl. Easy fix…instead of purling, keep the right side facing you and knit backwards from left to right. Need help-contact me.

  2. I love the color you chose, sorry it turned out so much bigger than you had hoped. I’m working on one now and I’m going a size smaller than I usually would.

    PS love the knitting backwards tip!

    • Thanks! I really like the color, too – if I were to knit it again, I’d definitely knit one size down. I’m sure yours will fit better than mine! : )

Leave a Reply

