A Tale of Three Scarves

Today is day six – we’re nearing the end of this blogging mini-marathon! The topic is…

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of holes. Or maybe that jumper that your did just didn’t like that much…

In pre-Ravelry days (did such a thing exist??) I knit a lot more scarves than I do now. I was still a little uncomfortable with knitting garments, and being a college student limited my yarn budget quite a bit. A long rectangle was a safe, cheap project, and I usually had a scarf on the needles at all times.

Most of those plain ol’ rectangles have been packed away in a cedar chest since I learned how to knit more complex lace shawls and scarves. They saw a lot of use in their day, though, so I decided to check back in with my old friends.

Scarf # 1 is a simple feather and fan stitch. The yarn was a Christmas gift from my cool aunt (she’s only 10  years old than me, and I have always wanted to be her! She used to let me hang out in her room and listen to hair metal. Now she plays mandolin and travels around to bluegrass festivals. Plus? She gives me yarny gifts. Everyone should have such an aunt) and it’s a burnt orange acrylic that was supposed to mimic mohair. I remember it shedding like crazy as I knit, and it’s still really fuzzy. It’s actually almost “felted” in a way; the yarn is all mashed down and blurry-looking where the scarf has gotten some wear and tear.

Would I still wear this one? Sure, why not? The color is pretty, and it would be nice for a crisp fall day.

Scarf # 2, oh, gosh, I loved knitting it so much! It’s the only handspun I’ve ever knit with, actually. It’s a thick and thin wool, pretty rustic, and is dyed a nice purpley blue. I bought it from a booth at the Lexington Farmer’s Market when I was in school at the University of Kentucky. I lived by myself in a teeeeeny 400 square foot studio apartment, and so I was often looking to get out of there and into the world where I had more breathing room. Most Saturday mornings, I walked the mile or so downtown and strolled up and down the farmer’s market street, dodging giant strollers and oblivious people who stopped to chat in the middle of the sidewalk.When I spotted a booth selling handspun yarn and fiber (and despite my best Googling, I’m unable to find the name of the farm/spinner) I was powerless to resist. It was around 200 yards for $12, which seemed dear at the time but now I think it was actually a great bargain!

Sidebar: What is it that makes investigating a farmer’s market completely on your own so nice? In fact, I did just that this morning. It’s especially great if you wake up early and get there at opening hour like I managed to do today. Most people are there in pairs or little groups or with children, and I like the freedom of being able to bob and weave from booth to booth without worrying about someone else keeping up. You’re utterly able to indulge your own whims, and can choose to buy whatever kind of lettuce you want.

Ahem. What was I talking about here? Oh, yes. Scarves.

I would certainly still wear this one. It’s chunky and uneven and I love it!

Scarf # 3 is, poor thing, my least favorite of the three. I went through this phase of knitting commissioned scarves for my mom’s friends and coworkers. And, man, did those ladies love novelty yarns. I flat out refuse to knit with just those yarns by themselves, so I knit their scarves using a strand of eyelash or fun fur yarn held together on alternating rows with Lion Brand Chunky. This was a sample I knit for myself, in the least-objectionable color of eyelash yarn I could find. It’s actually super, super soft and snuggly, and not as ugly as some of the ones I was commissioned to make.

Would I wear this now? Er….probably not. If I didn’t have any other scarves handy, I wouldn’t be embarrassed to grab this one. You can see, though, it has some loops starting to come loose, and I have so many lovelier handknit things to choose from now. I’m afraid this guy is going back into the bottom of the cedar chest.

Thanks for coming along with me as I dove into my stash of old scarves! It was so much fun to revisit these, and remember the yarns I used and where I was in my life when I knit them.

(Click here to read other bloggers’ take on this topic! I also want to say thanks so much to everyone who has commented so far. I love the conversations that this week has sparked!)

8 thoughts on “A Tale of Three Scarves

    • Thank you. I know, isn’t most of that yarn just awful? At least I got paid for it, though! hehe

Leave a Reply

