Here’s Knit and Crochet Blog Week Post #2!

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

This was a hard one! Initially, I had the very cocky thought that I don’t really need to gain any knitting skills; I’ve done very intricate lace. I’ve done colorwork. I’ve knit sweaters, both seamless and in pieces. I’ve knit socks. About the only “scary” thing I have left to try is steeking, and I don’t especially want to try it! I am very satisfied with my skill level right now. Not to toot my own horn, but…beep beep. Go me.

While I do have the skills to pay the bills knitting-wise, what I don’t have at the moment is a lot of time. So, I turned my thoughts to the second part of the prompt: something that seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication.

One pattern that I have loved with a passion since the day it came out in the Twist Collective Winter 08 is Sylvi by Mari Muinonen. The vines and flowers. The beautiful a-line shape. The hood! I just love it. Love at first sight.

I haven’t attempted this pattern yet because it takes a LOT of yarn, a LOT of time, and a LOT of concentration. That’s a lot of stuff. I am stretched a bit thin these days with a demanding job, and tackling a Mount Everest of a  pattern just isn’t on the horizon right now. But, ah, one day! I will knit a lovely, snuggly, brightly-colored Sylvi. And I will never take it off. And I will say to everyone I meet, “Hey! Hey you. Look at my coat. I MADE THIS. I totally made it. Isn’t is great?”

I couldn’t find any share-able images of Sylvi to yank, but here are links to some gorgeous ones on Flickr:

(Click here to read posts from participating bloggers on day two!)

4 thoughts on “

  1. Yep, lots of yarn, time and patience! But, very rewarding when you’re done. I’ve read a few other blogs today that also are contemplating this arduous task. It’s nice to dream.

  2. I fell in love with Sylvi the first time I saw it too! Your links reminded me of another “problem” with this pattern: what color? I love it in red, but I love it in other colors too 😉

Leave a Reply

