Finished! Vivian Cardigan

Finally, Vivian is finished! Number two in my quest to knit 12 sweaters in 12 months. And I love her. It. Whatever.

Pattern: Vivian by Ysolda Teague, Twist Collective Winter 2008 (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers, colorway sparrow (cute huh? I admit the name drew me to the color) 5 skeins total

Needle: size 6 bamboo, 40 inch circular

Mods and Notes: Oh gosh, I really like this sweater. It was a hard and satisfying knit. Getting through it felt like solving an especially complex math problem.

I didn’t modify anything about the pattern, except to shorten the hood by about an inch because I was running short on yarn. This made the hood too small – uh, dur! (As my students like to say.) I’m going to try and block it out bigger the next time I wash the sweater.

I ordered the zipper from Zipperstop, and I would cautiously recommend them. I got the YKK #5 molded plastic separated bottom zipper (and, wow, you have no idea how many different types of zippers there are til you start shopping for one) in color 530. On the screen, it matches the grey-green yarn pretty closely. In person, it’s actually darker and more like a hunter green. Could be my monitor, could be their photos. I toyed with the thought of mailing it back and getting another color, but I was so ready to be finished with this sweater that I kept it. Once I sewed the zipper in, I thought it looked fine.

I really love all the cable details and seed stitch texture in this pattern. It feels great to wear!

7 thoughts on “Finished! Vivian Cardigan

Leave a Reply

