Finished: Koolhaas Hat

I’m having quite a cranky day. By now, I should be barreling happily down Interstate 75, heading northward toward my hometown for a week-long Christmas visit. Because of some really awful weather and road conditions in the eastern part of the US, I’m stuck. Here. In North Carolina. Where I have been for the last eight months, and where my family is not, and where I am pouting because, dammit, I want to see my mom and dad and sister and nieces and everyone.

Imagine me huffing out a long-suffering sigh. Hrumph.

Trying to make lemonade, look on the bright side, etc. etc., I’ve been using this rotten day to finish a hat. See:

Pattern: Koolhaas by Jarod Flood (rav link here)

Yarn: Malabrigo worsted, Violetas color, about 75% of one skein

Needles: size 6 circulars. I Magic Looped as the hat got smaller at the crown, instead of using DPNs.

Notes and Mods: I knit 4 repeats for the smaller size, as the pattern directed, then realized it was going to be WAY too tall for my head. I have a small to medium size head. I ripped back to 3 repeats, and it fits nicely.

I have to say, I hated knitting this hat, although I like the finished product. There are a million fiddly little cables and I kind of hate cables. I view them as neccesary evil interruptions to the flow of my knitting. I hear tell that learning how to cable without a cable needle is a revelation; I’ll try it one of these days.

Anyway, it turned out cute enough to make the effort worth it, I think. It’s also really warm. I’m about to plot my next knitting project, which I will hopefully be knitting in the car tomorrow! Crossing my fingers for clear roads…

Leave a Reply

