New Project: Interlocking Leaves Socks!

More socks! I’m working on a pair of Interlocking Leaves, from Knitty fall 2008, in this nice bright pink color of Araucania Ranco. I spent a good hour looking at sock patterns and browsing finished socks on Ravelry, and, dammit, there are so many nice ones out there. How to decide? I ended up choosing this one based on the fact that the shoes in the pattern photo are really cute. (Also, the pattern had good feedback on Rav).

Half the time, I choose patterns based on how appealing I find the photo that goes along with the pattern. Fair? Not really. Do I miss out on some very cute, but crappily-photographed, patterns? I’m sure I do. Ultimately, though, the good photos with interesting settings/staging and cute clothes catch my eye and get my downloads. Just a hot tip for any knitting designers out there looking for my dollars.

Back to the socks!

leavessocks_small

I’ve just finished turning the heel on the first pair. I like the pattern so far! Well-written, makes sense, fun lace pattern.

In other news, Hurricane-then-downgraded-to-Tropical-Storm Ida is dropping SO much rain on all of North Carolina. It’s been raining non-stop since yesterday evening. The creek out back is rising perilously close to the house.

flood_small

See that water? Not normally there. They’re calling for rain through Friday! Eep! Since the tree fell on our house back in the spring, I think we should be safe, right? There must be some kinda law against facing more than one natural disaster per year.

Leave a Reply

