Recipe: French bread.

A friend of mine asked for the recipe I use to bake bread, and I said I would blog it ASAP, yep, right away, no problemo. And that was, like, two months ago! Eek. Sorry Jenny!

So…here’s how I make bread! hehe. I have a KitchenAid mixer, and I was never able to make bread successfully in my pre-mixer days. Frankly, I sucked at it. I ended up smearing sticky dough everywhere and my bread was always dense and awful. Then I got my robin’s egg blue Kitchen Aid as a wedding gift (sigh…reason #2 to get married, behind loving your spouse) and never looked back. Bread is, in fact, super easy! This is the recipe I use when I want a plain ol’ loaf of bread to have with a meal.

bread_small

French Bread

I adapted this from a Cooking Light recipe so that it can be made with a mixer.

  • 1 package dry yeast (2 & 1/4 teaspoons)
  • 1 cup warm water (100 to 110 degrees F)
  • 2 cups bread flour (you can use AP flour in a pinch, but bread makes a loaf that’s crusty-er and holds together better, in my opinion)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 egg

1. Dissolve yeast in warm water, and let stand 5 minutes. (You’ll start to see foamy stuff – that’s what you want).

2. Place flour and salt in the mixer, and mix a couple times until blended. Using the dough hook, slowly add the yeast and water mixture to the flour, and process until dough forms a ball. I usually process on speed 1 or 2 for this. After it makes a ball, process 2-3 more minutes.

3. Place dough in a large bowl coated with oil, so it doesn’t stick. Roll the dough ball around to coat in oil, and then cover the bowl with a flour sack-type towel (not a terry cloth one! Not that I speak from experience here.) Let the dough rise in a warm spot for 45 minutes or so. I turn my oven on low for a minute, then turn it off and let the dough rise in there.You can also pick a warm room or on top of the fridge or somewhere like that.

4. Punch dough down, and shape into a 9×8 inch rectangle on a clean countertop or on a heavy cutting board that’s been sprinkled with a little flour. Roll up dough, starting at the long end, and push out any air pockets. Pinch seam to seal. Cover dough, and let rise again in a warm spot for 30 minutes.

5. Preheat oven to 450. Uncover dough, and make 3 diagonal cuts across the top with a sharp knife. Mix together water and egg white, and brush the egg mixture on top of the loaf.

7. Bake at 450 for 20 minutes, or until loaf sounds hollow when tapped. Enjoy the delicious, delicious taste of success (and carbs).

4 thoughts on “Recipe: French bread.

    • Yep, it can be addicting! Also, once people find out you can bake bread, they want you to make it ALL the time. Not necessarily a bad thing though! : )

Leave a Reply

