Finished: Lilac Cardigan

lilac1

Pattern: Lilac, by Kim Hargreaves

Yarn: Rowan Cotton 4-ply, in aubergine (fingering weight, 100% cotton). Used about 4.5 skeins.

Needle: US size 1

Size: xsmall (32 bust…for reference, my bust measures about 32 inches, but I actually ended up with a good amount of negative ease, almost to the point where it’s tricky to button. The stitch pattern is somewhat stretchy, and I usually wear cardis unbuttoned anyway so the negative ease here isn’t that important to me.)

Mods: The main stitch pattern as written was created with a p2tog and YO stitch…I hate p2tog, so I changed them all t0 k2tog. To my eye, they look very similar, and I was able to knit the sweater much faster that way.

Notes: I really like this cardigan. It’s a little more cropped than I thought it would be, but it’s a cute little cotton sweater that will be nice for fall in the Southeast, when it’s still pretty warm-ish.

lilac_detail

lilac2

If only all my finished objects had such a backdrop…sigh.

3 thoughts on “Finished: Lilac Cardigan

  1. I love how your finished product looks! From your photos it looks like you actually decreased just above the lace peplum as you began the body rather than increasing as the pattern calls for – is that how you achieved the fit or did you block it that way?

Leave a Reply

