Progress on Lilac part two, and then off on vacation!

Lilac is almost done! All the pieces are knit, and since I took this photo yesterday, I’ve sewn up the shoulder seams, and picked up and knit the neckband.

lilac2

That weird lobster-claw look on the sleeve there is actually a cute picot-edged detail. It’s going to be fastened with a small button at the sleeve edge. You’ll see. It’ll be cute.

We’re leaving this weekend for a trip to the Outer Banks, which is a part of the state I’ve never seen. I’ve got that lovely anticipatory vacation feeling in my stomach, the one you get when you’re about to go explore somewhere new. This is my last hurrah before school starts again, and I’m going to make the most of it! We’ll have wireless where we’re staying, so I’ll be able to update a bit.

I really love packing vacation knitting, although I almost never get much actual knitting done. I still enjoy picking out a new project to cast on while out of town, and I cherish the delusion that I’m going to somehow knit an entire sweater or pair of socks in six days. It could happen.

This time, I decided to bring along Ishbel (rav link), a pattern by Ysolda Teague from her Whimsical Little Knits collection. It’s one of those crazy shawlettes all the kids are knitting these days.

ishbel1

I’m making it out of what might be one of the greatest yarns of all time, Malabrigo sock. The colorway is Turner, a brilliant olive green with bits of steel-blue.

Alright. Off to the beach!

Leave a Reply

