Magazine Review – Knitscene Fall 2009

I’ve been feeling a bit blue lately. My parents came for a visit last week and then headed back to where they live, which happens to be about 580 miles from where I live. I’m so lucky to have close family that I adore, and the down side of that is I miss them. A lot. It’s always hard muddling through the first couple days away from them.

So, cue trip to the yarn store. I’m actually not a huge yarn store person (long boring story – it has to do with not having a yarn store around that feels like it really “fits” me, plus bad early LYS experiences) but every once in a while when I need something specific (ha, “need”) I’ll head over there and it’s a nice pick-me-up. Today I got the fall 2009 issue of Knitscene from Interweave, and I bought it based almost entirely on the adorable patterns by Melissa Wehrle. All four of her designs in this issue are things I would love to knit.

dayna

The left photo is the front cover, with the Indigo Banded Cardigan by Cecily Glowik Macdonald. That’s the Carnaby Street Pullover and Berkshire Dolman Sweater in the middle, and the Emerald Isle Cardigan on the right. She also has a vest in this issue, equally cute. I love that all of Melissa’s designs here are kind of basics that have details, like the tab on the cuff of the Emerald Isle, that make them a little special.

There were several other cute patterns in this issue…I loved the Heather Hoodie Vest by Debbie O’Neill, and there are a pair of lace fingerless mitts and a pair of cabled socks that look so fun to knit. I also really, really like the back page feature, Style Spotting. They feature a project from the magazine, in this case the cover sweater, and style it six different ways. I love being able to see how versatile a knit project can be, because sometimes it’s hard to visualize wearing it with lots of different things. Well done on that!

The only thing I would ask of Knitscene is more articles, like interviews and book reviews and such. I supposed that’s more Interweave Knits territory, but I feel like a magazine conveys a bigger sense of being part of the knitting community when it has an even balance of articles and patterns. That’s just my personal preference!

Ahh, new patterns to fantastize about knitting! I definitely DO NOT want fall to get here faster, but when it inevitably does, I’ll have some cute things to knit at least.

One thought on “Magazine Review – Knitscene Fall 2009

  1. I totally agree! I ended up buying this issue too because there are so many cool projects. Now I can’t decide whether I should start the Carnaby Street Pullover first, or the Heather Hoodie Vest…or the Emerald Isle Cardigan!

Leave a Reply

