Adventures in a flooded library.

You may or may not know, but I’m a school librarian. There are some good things about my job. There are some bad things about my job. One of those bad things is coming to work on the last day of school, humming a happy tune and sipping a celebratory dark chocolate iced mocha, only to find half the carpet standing in an inch of water.

Oh. No.

A combination of heavy rains and a cracked drain pan on the A/C unit caused gallons and gallons of water to pour through the ceiling overnight. It didn’t directly fall on any books or computers, but it did get everything in the library damp. Including about 3,700 books. I spent all of my teacher workdays (and came in yesterday and today unpaid) to move the books first out of, and then back in, the library. I had a lot of help from my husband and a couple coworkers who are solid gold. They are getting homemade cookies when we come back in August.

To get a taste of the madness, picture this, except times about forty-two:

The books are taking over...

The books are taking over...

We moved all the books to non-flooded classrooms, set them up to air, and then moved them back after they’d dried out over the weekend. This was a labor of love for me: this is a new library collection, less than 2 years old, and I’ve collected the majority of those books. I love that collection, and it absolutely broke my heart. There’s not much to do now but hope and hope and hope even harder that they don’t mildew. I think it will be okay, and even if it’s not okay, I did my best.

In happier news! I finished the Swallowtail Shawl.

swallowtail3

It’s not blocked yet, if you couldn’t tell from the wrinkly-ness of it, so it’s really not finished at all. I am out of Soak, and feeling lazy. To the yarn store, tomorrow perhaps?

Started on my next project: a pair of Pomatomus socks, in the Trekking yarn from my last post.

pomatomus1

See the fish scale kinda pattern? I really like how it’s looking with the blue-green yarn!

Leave a Reply

