Nupp dog.

I’m onto the Lily portion of the Swallowtail Shawl, which means I’m in the thick of the nupps. Nupps are like little bobbins of stitches, created (in this pattern, at least) by purling together 5 stitches, and are characteristic of Estonian lace. Not easy. Not easy at all. There are yarn overs on each side of the nupp, so you have to be extra cautious not to purl those in too.

Although they’re tricky to execute, they look great – they add the sweet little bells to the lilies of the valley, and also a bit of raised texture to the lace. Beautiful.

I have helpfully pointed out the nupps with a fancy arrow. You're welcome.

I have helpfully pointed out the nupps with a fancy arrow. You're welcome.

By the way, nupp is pronounced “noop” – rhymes with soup. Half the time, I still say it “nuhpp” in my head, though.You can say it that way, too, if you want. I won’t tell.

Not much else is going on at the moment. I’m impatiently waiting out the last few days of school, before the promised land of summer. I really need to not see my students faces. Just for a few weeks. I expect they feel much the same about me.

Is it summer yet? Please?

Is it summer yet? Please?

2 thoughts on “Nupp dog.

  1. The nupps are definitely not fun. I think after a few rows of them I started working them on the rs really loose by pinching the yo’s at the bottom as I worked them, and then used a size 0 dpn on the wrong side to purl them together…

Leave a Reply

