Summer, and lace.

This long weekend unofficially marks the beginning of summer, at least in the U.S., and I’ve done exactly zero knitting over the three days. Inexcusable, I know. It’s actually been a bit of a disaster weekend for me – my plans to go pick strawberries were ruined by rain; I slipped and fell on someone’s spilled coffee at Whole Foods while three employees stood within 10 feet of me and watched and did not offer to help, reminding me once again why I hate shopping at WF;  and my dad was furloughed without pay for yet another week at his job, meaning our extended family vacation to the beach in July is canceled. Oh, and our garbage disposal broke yesterday and clogged the kitchen sink. Lordy mercy.

I’m completely aware that these are ridiculous, trivial  first world problems, and I should shut up and get back to blogging about knitting.

swallowtail2

I’ve made a little more progress on the Swallowtail Shawl in the last couple weeks. I finished the budding lace section, and it was really fun to knit. Nothing better than a pretty lace repeat that’s easily memorized so you can knit and watch tacky reality television at the same time.

swallowtail1

Loving the Malabrigo lace, as always. I would knit with nothing but Malabrigo, if I could. Semisolids. Yum.

I’m also working on a baby blanket for my cousin’s baby. The shower is in 3 weeks, and I have to mail it to Kentucky. Yeah, that’s not happening. It’ll definitely be done by her due date in September, though. Pictures coming soon, but not now, as I managed to mess up a plain garter and stockinette pattern somehow. Maybe I should lay off the simultaneous TV and knitting habit.

3 thoughts on “Summer, and lace.

  1. I hate shopping at whole foods too. I wish I didn’t because I always feel good about my purchases, but it is just always a really crappy grocery experience. I LOVE grocery shopping. Kurt and I look forward to it every week. At whole foods, I feel rushed. I feel like I’m always in the way and there is some whimpering, exasperated St. Matthews mom always harshing my mellow. People just seem like assholes there. I’d rather navigate around the mortorized scooter shoppers at Kroger and supplement my shopping with farmers market goods.

Leave a Reply

