The day a tree fell on my house.

Well, my herb garden was oh-so-pretty. And then this happened.

storm1

Last night, just a couple hours after I’d written that last blog post, I was sitting on the couch, knitting away on my swallowtail shawl and being happily sucked in the vortex of shame/comedy/pathos that is “The Real Housewives of New York,” when the power flickered out for about 30 seconds. I looked up from my lace and realized the sky was black, and the trees out back were whipping around like crazy. I stood at the back sliding glass door, and cracked some joke about how I should move away in case a branch came flying through the glass.

Yeah. I walked away and not 5 seconds later, a large tree came toppling down onto our deck.

storm3

That shot was taken right after it happened. Luckily (I guess, although it’s hard to feel lucky when we have to pay one thousand dollars to fix this, thanks universe) it didn’t do any structural damage to the house. It pretty much decimated the railing and stairs on our deck, ripped down a couple gutters, and cracked a couple of my herb pots. No roof damage, and no one was hurt. That’s not so terrible.

tree1

tree2

Plus, it gave me some subject matter for photos. I’m planning on sending these to our insurance agent, maybe matted and framed. A nice gift to hang in his office.

Leave a Reply

