Garden, in early May.

Quick garden update. The lettuce was mostly harvested last weekend, and was really, really tasty.

lettuce

It’s lucky that I got it when I did, because it turned hot and stormy and too-rainy and gross all week, and now the remaining stuff is pretty pitiful looking. For reference, I grew Grand Rapids and buttercrunch lettuce, I planted the seeds in containers in early March, and harvested after about 60 days. I live on the edge of zone 7a and 7b (well, in gardening terms…I don’t really live on the edge in other areas of my life. Har har.) Very, very easy to grow and I would totally recommend anyone, green thumb or not, try growing some lettuce.

My little container herb garden is looking oh-so-pretty.

herbgarden

Starting at the right and going counter-clockwise, that’s one pot of the Grand Rapids lettuce, then Thai basil, pineapple mint, Kentucky Colonel mint, sage, and 2-year-old lemon thyme that I coaxed back to life. My mind is still lingering on the garden in Colonial Williamsburg and its beds and beds of culinary and medicinal herbs. I want to wander around my orderly garden, full of comfrey and catnip and other cozy-sounding herbs. I wouldn’t necessarily want to have to rely on those herbs as my only medical treatment, outside leeches and bloodletting, but isn’t an herb garden a nice thought?

frog1

This is a friend who came back this spring: a bright green frog who hung out on our deck all summer last year. I was so excited to see him come back! And I’m clinging to the possible delusion that it’s the same frog! Don’t try to convince me otherwise! We have creatively named him Mr. Frog.

2 thoughts on “Garden, in early May.

Leave a Reply

