Louisville Love

I am taking a brief pause between a trip home and a trip to central New York to see my friends get married, so I don’t have a ton of time to write. In fact, after I finish this, I’m about to head upstairs to empty out my suitcase of the dirty clothes and fill it with clean ones before I go to bed, because we catch our flight right after work tomorrow. The glamorous life of a jet-setter. A jet-setter who’s terrified of flying.

Here are some of my favorite photos I took while I was home, and of some of the more iconic sites in Louisville (which, incidentally, I pronounce kind of like “Luhlvuhl.” My husband says “Louie-ville.” He is very wrong.).

The Belle of Louisville, a 94-year-old steamboat that is docked in the Ohio River and site of my senior class cruise.

The Belle of Louisville, a 94-year-old steamboat that is docked in the Ohio River and competes every year in the Great Stamboat Race against the Delta Queen. It was also the site of my senior class cruise back in high school.

Belle of Louisville, detail.

Belle of Louisville, detail.

home11

The garbage cans and newspaper stands downtown have this ironwork on them – I find it really beautiful! In the background of this shot, you can see the 21c Museum Hotel, which is evidently a fancy boutique hotel where famous people stay when they come to town. To the right of the tree you can see a chandelier sculpture with a bullhorn attached. The bullhorn breathes heavily at you when someone inside pushes a bell. Very odd and more than a little unsettling. You can read the artist statement about it here.

Giant Louisville Slugger bat! You can see my dad at the bottom there, for perspective. It's big.

Giant Louisville Slugger bat! You can see my dad at the bottom there, for perspective. It's big.

fleur_2

The symbol of Louisville is a fleur de lis, and you can often find them worked into the architecture of older buildings. These two fleur de lis were spotted on houses on St James Court and Belgravia Court in the Old Louisville neighborhood.

Conrad-Caldwell House, detail.

Conrad-Caldwell House, detail.

My hometown. I love it. I miss it.

My hometown. I love it. I miss it.

3 thoughts on “Louisville Love

  1. isn’t he from luhlvuhl (which, btw, is one of the better phonetic renderings i’ve seen)? i blame tv and radio… no one on either says the damn name right. it’ll be louie-ville soon enough and i will weep.

    • Yes, he is, but he refuses to say it correctly. Louie-ville, indeed.

      Thanks about the pic compliment! I got to use my dad’s fancy lens and tripod, so the nighttime photos turned out really nicely.

Leave a Reply

