Finished! Climbing Vines Pullover

This has been finished for a couple weeks now, I just haven’t set aside time to take photos Anyway. Ta da!

climbingvines11

Pattern: Climbing Vines Pullover from Interweave Knits Winter 2008 (Rav link here)

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Pea Soup

Needles: size 5, Denise Interchangeables

What I was watching/listening to while I knit this: Ghost Hunters Season 3, Manic Purl Podcast, The Age of Innocence on Librivox

Thoughts: I enjoyed knitting this, for the most part. The back was a little tedious, with all that plain stockinette. I knit the 2nd size up, and it was definitely the wrong choice. I should have knit a size smaller, because the alpaca yarn stretches quite a bit and it’s just too baggy. The yarn is also a big scratchy (but I am pretty picky and sensitive about animal fibers, so take that with a grain of salt) and, wow, really warm. I will probably have to put this away until winter, unless we get a bizarro cold snap.

climbingvines3

I didn’t make any modifications, but if I were to knit it again, I’d make more increases on the waist shaping, to pull it in and make it a lot more fitted. I know that some people weren’t completely happy with the sleeve length, but I really like that bracelet-type length, so I knit the sleeves exactly as written. Overall, my first pullover was a moderate success. I think it’s back to cardigans for me.

climbingvines2

4 thoughts on “Finished! Climbing Vines Pullover

Leave a Reply

