A No-Knitting Weekend.

My knitting motivation seems to have abandoned me entirely. Does that happen to you, from time to time? It does me. I’m on break from work right now, so you’d think I would be knitting up a storm. Instead, I can hardly stand to sit still and knit. To be fair, I also had three extremely annoying knitting disasters this week.

  • One:
ugh1

Ugh Number One.

The Whisper Cardigan is not playing nicely with my sad plastic DPNs, and I haven’t made it to the yarn store to get some bamboo ones yet. There’s the most awful, ugly laddering (Can you see it? But it’s only at the one spot! Not the other two. Why??) and my hands are killing me, what with tugging that cotton so hard to try in vain to stop the ladders. Not fun.

  • Two:
Ugh Number Two.

Ugh Number Two.

My husband and I came home from the movie theater yesterday afternoon, blissfully unaware that while we were enjoying the comedic stylings of Seth Rogan, my cat was enjoying the delicious taste of Malabrigo lace. She pulled it off the top shelf of a 6ft tall bookshelf and dragged it 3 rooms into the kitchen. Actually, considering the damage she’s done before, I got off easy this time. A reminder to store all animal yarn in a locked safe from now on.

The perp.

The perp.

  • Three:

Took out the recycling on Saturday, and as I tossed in a stack of old papers, I saw a Classic Elite ad staring up at me from the bottom of the wheeled recycling bin. “Huh, that’s odd,” I thought, “that looks just like…A STACK OF INTERWEAVES.” Turns out my husband thought he was doing us all a favor by tossing out a couple of my 2007 Interweave Knits with the recyclables. His explanation, “But aren’t they 2 years old? Why do you want them?” (By the way, they were in a neat stack on the bookshelf). Thank heaven they landed on piles of other magazines, not rainwater or old garbage juice.

AHHHHHHH. (He made up for this by baking homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Recipe tomorrow.)

So, rather than being stress relief, knitting has been stressful lately. I’ve pretty much given it up for the moment, and given myself permission to do other things for a bit. I’ve been playing in the garden, crossing things off my to-do list, just taking time to do whatever I feel like. I’m sure I’ll be back in the saddle soon; there’s just too much great stuff out there to knit. What do you do when you feel like you’ve temporarily lost your inspiration to knit?

Leave a Reply

