Snow day, and February Lady.

Alllll weekend long, my view looked like this:

dsc_0020

Now, it’s more like this:

dsc_0029

Snow day for the students, work day for me. I got some shelving, lesson planning, and displays done. I really don’t mind working on slow and quiet days like these.

dsc_00251

In the knitting world, I am finishing up a February Lady Sweater, in Berroco Comfort. I cast on in February, and was hoping to finish it up in February too, thus achieving a nice sense of symmetry.

dsc_0007

I finished the body in one week, which is really unusual for me because I tend to hop around from project to project. This sweater was a total breeze…until I got to the sleeves.

The sleeves have taken me over two weeks to knit! That’s madness. I’ve been magic looping them, and my circular is right on the edge of being too short, so that’s annoying. The gull lace pattern goes a lot more slowly for me in magic loop. Then I got to the garter edge of the first sleeve, and my brain must have shortcircuited. The conversation I had with myself went something like this:

Me: Let’s see…you knit flat garter stitch by knitting every stitch, so how would you knit it in the round?

My brain: Maybe purling every stitch?

Me: Hmm…I don’t know. That doesn’t seem right somehow. I have reservations.

My brain: I’m totally right! Do it!

Me: Okay! Full steam ahead!

I even sat there and happily noted that the other side of my “garter stitch” cuff was flat. Uh, doi. Of course, you will have figured out by now that I was knitting reverse stockinette, and having a jolly good time doing it, too. It took me 1.5 inches and binding off to realize that though. I knit the second one correctly, after 3 tries. Seriously. I have some kind of mental block against garter in the round (which, by the by, is done by alternating knit and purl rows. A fact I should have looked up before I started.)

Wrong!!

Wrong!!

Right!!

Right!!

I need to re-knit the first cuff, weave in ends, and sew on buttons. I’m thinking I’ll have plenty of time to do that tonight, and I’ll be back with final thoughts about the pattern soon!
p.s. My bum ankle is totally fine. It magically regenerated itself overnight. That’s the power of 9 hours of sleep.
Leave a Reply

