Montego Bay Scarf – done!

Montego Bay Scarf.

Pattern: Montego Bay Scarf by Amy Singer, Interweave Knits, Summer ’07

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Luscious Silk in Turquoise colorway, 1 skein of 360 yards

Needles: US size 8, Denise interchangeables

Mods:
I cast on fewer stitches than the pattern calls for – I believe around 33 stitches – so as not to run out of yarn. The result was that the scarf was about 6 inches wide. I didn’t measure the length exactly, but it was plenty long, enough to wrap around my neck 2 or 3 times.

I didn’t braid the fringe – instead I made a regular fringe and cut the pieces about 15” long. Then I made another row of knots about an inch below the edge of the scarf, tying together 4 strands from one fringe and 4 strands from the one next to it.

Montego Bay Scarf.

Mmmm, silk. This was lovely to knit, and the final product is just gorgeous. I had trouble turning loose of it to mail to my mom! She loved it though. I know I’ll knit this pattern many more times; it would make a great, quick gift, and I plan to knit it for myself too.

Montego Bay Scarf.

Leave a Reply

