Yee haw! It’s summer.

Is there a sweeter, more exhilarating feeling? The school year is done, and other than a couple meetings and workshops, I have eight weeks stretching ahead of me. Unclaimed time, waiting to be filled with knitting, cooking, reading, talking, and whatever else strikes my fancy. You too can have this free time, if you’re willing to spend the other 10 months of the year wrangling adolescents. What a deal!

So. Expect to see more blog entries, because I have more time to blog (duh) and do things like bake bread.

Bread

From this recipe for Amish White Bread. (I’m not sure what makes it “Amish”. The super-sweet sugary texture doesn’t seem particularly Amish to me. Hmm.) It’s got a lot of sugar in it. A lot. I even cut it down some from what the recipe calls for. I have to say, it’s pretty dang delicious though. I used my Kitchenaid mixer – proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl, added the flour a cup at a time on speed 2, and I kneaded it on speed 2 for about 3 minutes or so.

Flutter Sleeve Cardigan.

In knitting news, the Flutter Sleeve Cardi is nearing the finish line. I knit the fronts, front bands, and sleeve bands with no problems. Again, I decreased the number of stitches by about 20% to account for my status as Loosest Knitter Ever. I stayed up late last night, seaming (BECAUSE I CAN, DAMMIT) and now I need to seam the left side, buy some buttons, throw those suckers on, and then it’ll be done.

In fact, I’m off to do some seaming now, and ingest my daily ration of caffeine. Long live summer.

june 012

Leave a Reply

