Hexacomb Cardigan, finished.

hexacomb cardigan.

Pattern: Hexacomb Cardigan by Kate Himmelberg from Spring 2008 issue of Interweave Knits.

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Ease in almond (3 skeins)

Needles: size 3 (Addi lace turbos)

Mods: I knit this all in one color, without the contrasting detail of the original pattern. I also picked up about 100 stitches around the neckband, instead of the 120 called for in the pattern. When I tried 120, the neckband ruffled quite a bit. That’s about it!

hexacomb Cardigan, button detail.

Notes: I made the smallest size, and I think it fits well. I’m very pleased with the finished product. I used mother of pearl 3/4 inch buttons, and I think I should have used maybe 1/2 inch buttons, because it’s a tight squeeze in each buttonhole. I washed and dried this sweater in the machine (before I put the buttons on!!) and it didn’t shrink at all. I’ll probably hand wash it from now on, though.

The one tricky part for me was seaming the set-in sleeves. I used this Techniques by Teresa article and used vertical to horizontal seaming on the top part of the shoulder where you’re bringing together your verrtically knit sleeve and horizontally knit shoulder, then used mattress stitch of the sides of the sleeves where you’re bringing together knitting side-by-side. The seam at the top of the shoulder is less neat that I’d wish, because the hexacomb stitch pattern isn’t smooth, but it looks pretty nice.

Hexacomb Cardigan, back view.

Hexacomb Cardigan.

(I like how I look like I’m chastising someone off camera in that shot. Maybe I was thinking about being at school when the self timer went off…)

And finally, just because I was so pleased by these, here are the first strawberries of the season from my farmer’s market. Gorgeous.

Spring's first strawberries.

Leave a Reply

