Thuja socks.

I thought I’d catch up on what I did last weekend. A friend and I did some exploring and drove to a lake about 30 minutes away. It’s a pretty nice little spot. The afternoon started out sunny, but it got really chilly, really fast. I cast on for the second sock of a pair of Thuja while we sat around and chatted.

thuja.

While I was home during spring break, my very accommodating mother drove me by the LYS closest to my parents’ house, the Knit Nook in Louisville. (Highly recommended, cute little shop with friendly people – but, really, not surprising because I was in Kentucky. It’s that friendly!) I was browsing, thinking, “Hmm. Socks. I’ll knit some socks while I’ll home! A whole pair! In five days!” I had my mom pick some yarn out, because she’s due for a pair of handknit socks. She’s one of those people who claim to hate wool, so she picked out some Cascade Fixation. It’s 98.3% cotton and 1.7% elastic. Very precise content information, Cascade! Nice job.

She initially picked out a bright red, yellow and blue colorway that looked just like Superman ice cream. I love my mama, but no. I refused to look at that. She settled on a bright springy green. I spent half the 5 days deciding on a pattern. I cast on for 3 different patterns, and couldn’t get gauge because the Fixation is kinda sorta a sport weight/DK yarn. I ended up choosing Thuja because it’s written for a thicker yarn, and didn’t have a complicated stitch pattern that would be obscured by the weird texture of the yarn.

The Fixation took a lot of getting used to, and it still feels weird to knit with. The excellent thing is that the socks will fit both me (shoe size 7) and my mom (shoe size 10). The power of elastic! I finished up the first pair during the drive back from Kentucky, and hadn’t had time to cast on the second until Sunday.

thuja at the lake.

So, yes. I’m hoping to take the second sock to school tomorrow and get a few rows in during the students’ free time at the end of the day, and then finish it up this weekend. I’m also planning a really thorough list-making of all my WIPs so that I might actually, you know, get some done. Look for that in the next few days.

my feet at the lake.

Leave a Reply

