Fetching, for a friend.

I started a pair of Fetching last weekend for a friend’s birthday – she had admired a pair of ($18!) fingerless handwarmers at Urban Outfitters back in December, and I was like, pssssh. I can knit those in a snap. So I did, in a slate-blue baby alpaca. They are very warm and very snuggly. After I blocked them, they developed an even more cuddly-looking fuzzy halo.

She is totally having a night out on the town to celebrate tonight, and I totally had to go and get sick. So, I finished the present last night but she won’t get them until I’m feeling like getting off the couch again. I don’t anticipate that being any time soon. Oh well.

fetching.

Pattern: Fetching
Yarn: Alpaca with a Twist Baby Twist (one skein, 110 yards)
Needles: Denise Interchangeables, size 5 (Magic Loop method)

Mods: I decided to knit the thumb from the Composed Knits, which uses increases and binding off, rather than this pattern’s usual method of using waste yarn, picking up stitches, etc. That seems so fiddly, and I always have a little hole there no matter how tightly I knit. I found this thumb a lot cleaner looking, and just easier in general. The one thing is that the thumb isn’t quite as long, but that doesn’t bother me. I also hate doing the picot bind off because I am lazy, so I left that off.

I will be spending my evening sulking over a bowl of Chinese vegetable soup.  Hate being sick! I’m praying to the teaching gods that I’m well enough to wrangle 6th graders by Monday.

Leave a Reply

