Clapotis, finished.

My clapotis is done! I finished it this week, and took a perverse delight in ripping out the dropped stitches. Ahh, destruction with a purpose.

clapotis

This was a hard project to photograph, for some reason. My long suffering husband took the photo of me. I think the clapotis nicely compliments my UK shirt. Go Cats! (I’m listening to the Kentucky-Arkansas game as I type. It’s nerve wracking, and blogging is a good distraction. We’re not winning at the moment.)

clapotis

Pattern:
Clapotis by Kate Gilbert
Yarn: Koigu PPPM, 3 skeins of P450
Needles: Denise Interchangables, size 6 US

Notes: This was as fun to knit and as satisfying a product as everyone says. I knit the pattern exactly as written, and it turned out a nice, normal scarf size. Knitting it in a fingering weight sock yarn gives it a lightness and a drape that I really like. It was a great project for the Koigu because the long stretches of knitting are made more interesting by the color changes, which happen every few stitches or even every stitch. The ladders made by dropping the stitches are also a great showcase for the colors. I’ll definitely knit this again.

clapotis

Leave a Reply

