toe-up from the flo’ up

I made a decision on the Mystic Waters Shawl – I’m going to knit the shorter version. The designer helpfully provided a shorter pattern, eliminating the last 3-ish clues, for those of us without the stamina to finish the whole thing. I actually knit 5 rows past the shorter version cut-off (at which point you’re supposed to start the edging). I figured, eh. No one will notice. I’m currently working on the edging, which is slow-going but GENIUS. I’ve never done edging that didn’t involve picking up stitches. This edging is one of those “just knit it and believe it will happen” kind of instructions – I didn’t think it would work, but it totally did and it’s looking so lovely. I’m hoping to have it finished this week, with pictures of course.

Right now, my mindless knitting is a pair of toe-up socks , based on the Ann Budd pattern in the summer ’07 Interweave Knits.

Toe-up socks

Knitpicks Essential in Pumpkin, one sock completed, one to go. These are my first toe-up socks, and it’s fun to see the slightly different shape this method creates. The toe is kinda sorta too pointy, but I’m thinking positively and calling it charmingly elfin.

The big news in my life is that I started a new job this week: my very first teacher-librarian position. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and I’m really struggling with it so far. I’m confident it will get better. Perhaps not easier, but hopefully more fun. Blogging and knitting especially will be welcome stress relievers. I’ll keep you posted.

And now, a gratuitous kitty photo.

Lila loves wool!

Leave a Reply

