mystic waters shawl, in progress

Mystic Waters Lace Shawl

This is the lace shawl I’ve been periodically working on since late October or early November. It’s a pretty complex pattern – it’s one of those mystery shawls the kids are all crazy about these days. The knit-along finished Dec 12, but you can still buy the pattern from the designer here.

I’m almost-not-quite done with Clue 5 (the shawl was released in 8 clues, one each Wednesday). It’s a hugely labor-intensive project, at least for me. I’m a slow-ish lace knitter, and each row is starting to take me about 15 minutes to finish. The wrong-side rows are all purls, and damn. They kill me.

This is a shot of most of the shawl. I’m knitting it on 40 inch lace Addi’s, and there are so many stitches on there that’s it’s hard to photograph the whole thing without taking it off the needles. Which I’m sure not doing, so you’ll just have to settle for a squashed-up picture for now.

Mystic Waters Lace Shawl

2 thoughts on “mystic waters shawl, in progress

  1. Even if the rows are taking forever and a day to finish, it really does look lovely. Mystic Waters is one of those shawls I wish I’d known about when it was in Knitalong status, since I keep seeing it everywhere now and going, “That’s a beautiful shawl! I want to knit it, but have no money to buy the pattern.” Ah well. I’ll just content myself with looking for now. 😀

Leave a Reply

