Goodbye and Hello.

I needed to take a short break from blogging to reflect on some changes: one big goodbye and one big hello in my life. (If reading about pet loss makes you too sad, you may want to skip this one!)

About three weeks ago, we had to say goodbye to our sweet cat Lila, who had been fighting lymphoma like a champ for over a year and a half. It finally became too much for her to fight anymore, and with the guidance of our vet, we decided it was the most compassionate thing to let her go peacefully. It was sort of mind-boggling how quickly she declined; during the previous weekend, she was eating, jumping in and out of boxes (one of her most cherished hobbies!) and mostly being herself. Three days later, she suddenly wouldn’t eat even her favorite foods, had trouble walking, was panting heavily, and just generally looking miserable. It was one of the hardest things we’ve had to do, but in the middle of the grief, I felt a weight lifted. I still feel a sense of relief that she is no longer suffering with pain, and side effects of medication, and the stress of monthly vet visits (which she hated!).

The grief is still heavy and fresh, and I’m actually sitting here all weepy as I write this. Which was why I avoided writing this blog post. : ) My husband and I have turned the corner where we are able to laugh about her silly ways and share memories of her, and feel more happiness that we got to love her than sadness that she’s gone. She really was the funniest thing! She was a chirper, never a meow-er – she’d walk into a room and greet you with this chirping trill that ended in a question mark. Like, “Brrript? How are you? What’s up in here?”Like most cats, she hated when the attention was not on her, and would stand in front of the computer monitor or try to knock a book out of your hands, to free you up for more petting. And of course, she loved to walk right on top of my knitting and sleep on anything that I was blocking. Cats are really the best, aren’t they? Is there a more sweetly and infuriatingly selfish creature than a spoiled cat?

lilaboo

 

Is it summer yet? Please?

kitty

I’m glad I got nine years with my sweet Lila Lou. She will be much missed.

Whew. Pass the Kleenex, please. Happily, about a week later, we got to say a sweet hello to a new baby niece, Louisa Grace! I have five nieces now, quite a collection! : ) My little sister is my hero – she is now a mama to two adorable girls, and she works full time, and she had a natural birth! I have trouble getting myself dressed and fed some mornings; I have no idea how she does it!

I will try to share some Louisa photos in the near future, but for now I’ll share the little set I knit for her, out of Phydeaux hand painted sock yarn, in the cheeriest spring colors.

Image

Image

Hat details:

Pattern: Easy Peasy Newborn Sock Hat (free!) by Keri Mckieran

Needles: Size US 2 (2.75mm)

Yarn: Phydeaux Chausette (80% superwash merino, 20% nylon sock yarn) Miami colorway

Cardi details:

Pattern: Newborn Vertebrae by Kelly Brooker (Rav link here – also free!)

Same yarn and needles as hat

I’m really happy with how the sweater turned out – I love that the yarn ends up blending the colors in a confetti effect, rather than big pools of color. I also think the pattern is very smart in that it doesn’t really have a front, so there’s less chance of getting spit-up on the sweater and having to wash it!

So. This seems to be a season of change for me, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s nice and synchronous that nature is also going into the season of change, growth, green things popping up, and sunshine. I’m looking forward to seeing what this season brings.

Image

5 thoughts on “Goodbye and Hello.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your cat! Your sweet description of Lila Lou reminds me of a cat I had as well, especially the way that she would walk on my book or keyboard and park herself right in line of a good petting. Clearly Lila Lou was loved very much.

    Congratulations on your new niece too. What a darling hat and cardigan! Perfect spring colors!!

Leave a Reply

