Happy January!

Hello there. I’m tentatively dipping my toe back into this blogging thing, after an eight month break, because I miss it, because it prompts me to actually take and edit proper photos, and because it feels good to record my accomplishments, even if only for myself. I’m making no apologies and no promises, though!

To be perfectly honest and probably a little TMI, I’ve been struggling over the past year with some generalized anxiety and over-the-top worrying, although I’m now taking baby steps to deal with it, and 2014 has been looking brighter so far. I’m also beginning to realize that the arbitrary deadlines and expectations of perfection that I place on myself are not helpful. And, in fact, quite anxiety-provoking! Shocking! Who would have imagined?!

Image

So, I plan to blog when I’m able, and I’ll continue following along with all the lovely blogs out there and admiring others’ projects and writing when I’m not up to it. No pressure. Only fun.

Speaking of fun! My big news of January is that I finally, finally got my dream spinning wheel. It’s a Lendrum DT, and I purchased it from the Woolery (located in my lovely home state and a wonderful, helpful, friendly place to buy a wheel – HIGHLY recommended). I’ve been saving up over the past couple Christmases and birthdays and squirreling away pocket money and I finally bought it and OH I LOVE IT:

Image

It’s Canadian! And uses Scotch tension! And doesn’t squeak and squeal and wobble like my first wheel! Looking so forward to lots of relaxing spinning this year.

I have such a back-log of 2013 projects that I’ll never catch up on blogging them, so let me wipe the slate clean and just tell you about my latest finished project:

Image

Pattern: Three Sisters Scarves # Two by Monika Steinbauer (free pattern; links to PDF)

Yarn: Handmaiden Fine Yarn Sea Silk (70% silk, 30& plant fiber) in the Hemlock color way, used all 430 yards

Needles: Size US 4 (3.5mm)

Notes and Mods: No mods. This yarn was, to use the parlance of the day, amaze-balls. I got it using a frequent buyer discount at my most beloved local yarn store, Warm ‘n’ Fuzzy¬†and I hope to have the pleasure of knitting with it again some day!

Image

This was a (very!) belated Christmas gift for my mom, and she got it this week and loves it! My mom is a very knit-worthy person, for lots of reasons, and I’m so glad she likes her gift.

Image

We’re actually having a snow day here in the Southeast, very unusual for us, so I’ll leave you with a few photos I took on my morning tromp around the woods behind our house. Hope you’re having a great day full of fun and absent of worry! : )

Image

Image

Image

6 thoughts on “Happy January!

  1. Your spinning wheel is so cool! And I do love my scarf. Wearing to work tomorrow. Can’t wait to show it off. Thanks for sharing your snow pictures. The deer one is super duper (as Cora would say) cool. Perfect timing. Stay warm and enjoy your snow day. :)

  2. Lovely knit for your Mom and yippee, a new wheel!! Have fun! I have struggled with anxiety issues my whole life…almost 50 now and feel like I have control. For me, therapy and medication has helped. Wishing you all the best! ~Barb

    • Thank you so much for your kind words!! And for sharing about your own anxiety – it helps so much to hear that I’m not the only one who struggles with it. I’m glad to hear that you have found some solutions to help; definitely gives me some hope that I won’t always be under a cloud of worrying! : ) Take care!

Leave a Reply

